KBM

Reflections on how I learn to live life with faith.

Mobile Phone

Last Saturday, I went to Melbourne’s Moomba festival with my friends. As I was searching my bag to get my mobile phone, I could not find my phone. I started to panic because I could not find my phone.

If something is missing, particularly your phone… where will you search for it? I definitely traced my steps from where I previously had my phone with me. But upon looking around that area, I could not find my phone. My friends started to call my phone, hoping we could hear it ringing. But still, we could not find it.

I started to pray. I felt that a big part of my life has been lost because of that phone. I still kept smiling though hoping that my phone will miraculously appear again.

After several attempts of calling my phone, finally someone picked up my phone. The gentleman asked me to describe the phone. When he was convinced, he told me to meet him and he will give the phone back to me. While talking on the phone, he told me that I have bible verses on my phone and I said yes. Upon seeing him with his family, he gave me back my phone. And upon parting ways, I said “God bless” to him and his family.

What a relief.

The next day, when I visited Hillsong church, the pastor preached about walking free. In the middle of his preaching, I realised that I relied so much on my mobile phone that it was like the air that I’m breathing. I take it for granted sometimes because I know that my mobile phone will always be there where I always keep it… that my mobile phone will always be beside me. My mobile phone has become a part of me that I feel so lost without it. And when I found it, my dependence on the phone was imminent. It’s like the phone and myself has been inseparable.

I feel reminded that when I met Christ, I felt that surrendering my life on Him makes me feel secure. Because Christ provides me with all that I need and want. Because Christ gave me a sense of fulfilment, wholeness, and a new life.

I do feel that my like my phone, Christ has always been beside me, that I take it for granted. I was not able to pray as often as I did before. My fire for the ministry, discipleship and evangelism has lost its spark. And the further I got away from Christ, the more I felt lost. The more that I am going nowhere. And when we lose something, the best place to find it is to trace our steps back. And so I started reading the bible again and have conversations with God again.

The pastor said that, we do have seasons in our lives. Perhaps God is stirring us so we can reach new highs; so we’ll have different methods of seeking out for Him. But at the end of our every highs and lows, we will soar high again like eagles because God is always there. And He will always care, provide, guard and love me. Because we cannot expect to be in the same place as we were before, we cannot grow if we’re continuous in our routine and live within the limits of our comfort zone. Growth in Christ is when we are put outside our comfort zone, and be more and more dependent on seeking out for Him, and reaching out for Him.

In a desert land he found him, in a barren and howling waste. He shielded him and cared for him; he guarded him as the apple of his eye, like an eagle that stirs up its nest and hovers over its young, that spreads its wings to catch them and carries them aloft. – Deuteronomy 32:10-11

My life has seasons. I do realise that as long as I keep seeking for Jesus with as much gusto as when I sought for my lost phone…. I will always find Him. His eyes are always looking for me to strengthen me, no matter how mighty and big the Lord is, as long as my faith keeps a stronghold with such great desire for Him

For the eyes of the LORD range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him… – 2 Chronicles 16:9

Therefore, should I fret when I feel lost? Well yes. But now I know that I just have to trace my steps back; and I am certain that I will find Him again. 

God is good all the time.

Kat.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 11,537 hits
This blog contains my thoughts, reflections and realizations about my journey. Who I was before, what I am currently learning, what has inspired me, and who I am now.

Follow me:

Twitter/ Instagram: @ternski
Tumblr: ktrnamanalo.tumblr.com

Archives

March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Current books I’m reading

