KBM

Reflections on how I learn to live life with faith.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Last fortnight was my 27th birthday. Yes. I. Just. Turned. 27. I. am. 27. To me, it sounds so dreadful to utter that number – 27.

The night before my birthday, I watched some Jim Carey movies and one of them is — The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. (SPOILER ALERT) Basically, the movie is about a couple who had their memories of their relationship wiped out to lessen the pain of moving on from a broken relationship. So as I was watching the film, I thought to myself wow… wouldn’t it be nice to have that technology of having specific memories in the past that you just want to forget? Wouldn’t be nice to just wipe away all the bad ones and just keep the good memories?

If that’s a possibility then, life would be so great, isn’t? I have made a lot of wrong decisions for 27 years, and there were some mistakes I wished I could just wipe out of my memory. There were times that I wonder if I could step back in time and literally stop myself from making a bad decision.

For example: There was a time when I was browsing through my Facebook photos trying to find a super old school picture with a friend of mine that I could use so I can greet him on his birthday…… and found old photos of me and my ex, and saw the young me… the 14 year-old-me… and I just wanted to just go back in time to talk myself out of being into that relationship and just enjoy my youth.

However, if all those mistakes did not happen, I will not be the person who I am today. I was able to move forward from the mistakes that I have made in the past. I do believe that my past has made me a new me.

Despite my past mistakes, what actually gave me the strength that I require to still face the world… is JESUS. It is impossible to have memories erased, particularly those memories that reminds me of bad things in my life… but, it is possible to erase the sins that I have made.

Looking back, I was 23 when I have accepted Jesus as my Lord and Saviour. With Jesus who shed his blood for me, all my sins have been wiped clean… and because of Jesus, I could live the same life like someone who has bad memories erased and have a life that is spotless.

And for my 27th birthday, I dedicate this birthday to JESUS. Thank you for erasing all the hurt and pain. Thank you for erasing all the sins in my life. Thank you for erasing the bad things in my life that needed to be erased — just so I could re-align my life back into You and Your will.

“How happy is the blameless vestal’s lot!

The world forgetting, by the world forgot.

Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!

Each pray’r accepted, and each wish resign’d”

– Alexander Pope

He erased the certificate of debt, with its obligations, that was against us and opposed to us, and has taken it out of the way by nailing it to the cross. – Colossians 2:14

Kat.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2015 by in Faith, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,727 hits
This blog contains my thoughts, reflections and realizations about my journey. Who I was before, what I am currently learning, what has inspired me, and who I am now.

Follow me:

Twitter/ Instagram: @ternski
Tumblr: ktrnamanalo.tumblr.com

Archives

February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Current books I’m reading

