KBM

Reflections on how I learn to live life with faith.

Go up & Serve

Simon’s mother-in-law was in bed, sick with a fever, and they told Jesus about her at once. He went to her, took her by the hand, and raised her up. The fever left her, and she served them. (Mark 1:30, 31 CEB)

I have been pretty down lately. The rejections that I have been receiving have been drowning my self-esteem. But I have been putting on a confident smile and a less-worrying face every single day. I barely open up to people except for my mentors so that they can offer a prayer for me.

Last night at Bible study, I told my group that there are some teachings in the Catholic religion that have not been put out in the open like baptism, confession and other minute details in the story of the people’s background in the gospels. I told them that in the Catholic religion, we view priests as celibate and the first Pope acknowledged by the church is Simon Peter. However, I have read in the Bible that Simon actually has a mother-in-law which means that he was married.

I looked up for that verse this morning and re-read it again before I sent it to my group mates. As I read through it, I can’t help but feel a warmth in my heart.

The mother-in-law was sick, just as I am – I am mentally and emotionally sick. The people knew about it and told Jesus, just as I am – my mentors know about my situation and have been constantly praying for me. Jesus came to the mother-in-law to heal her, just as I am – Jesus constantly comes to me to heal me by replenishing me with strength and a strong social support system.

At the end of the verse, the sickness of the woman left her, she went up to serve! Now, this is a realization for me, I am constantly being healed by Christ but I still drown myself with depression due to the rejections that I have been dealing with lately… I shouldn’t sulk hence, I should stand up! Stand up & serve! Stand up & testify! Stand up & minister! Stand up & evangelise! Stand up & praise! Stand up & worship!

Hence, I guess that is one of the reasons why the Desert song by Hillsong United has been stuck in my head for the whole day yesterday and today. The message of the song is pretty clear: “This is my prayer in the desert and all that’s within me feels dry. This is my prayer in the hunger in me. My God is a God who provides. And this is my prayer in the fire, in weakness or trial or pain. There is a faith proved of more worth than gold, so refine me Lord through the flames. And I will bring praise. No weapon forged against me shall remain. I will rejoice! I will declare! God is my victory and He is here! All of my life in every season You are still God. I have a reason to sing. I have a reason to worship.”

Lord, whenever I sink beneath the waters, you never fail to grab my hand to raise me up and provide me with a reason for living, a purpose for breathing, a meaning for existing, and a new life to live in. I’ve got nothing but praise to give you, Lord. I love you and I will always put my trust according to Your will. Keep uplifting me Lord! Just as you have said in Isaiah 40:29-31, you replenish and renews strength to the weary. These I pray in the name of my Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. Amen!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 11,840 hits
This blog contains my thoughts, reflections and realizations about my journey. Who I was before, what I am currently learning, what has inspired me, and who I am now.

Follow me:

Twitter/ Instagram: @ternski
Tumblr: ktrnamanalo.tumblr.com

Archives

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Current books I’m reading

