KBM

Reflections on how I learn to live life with faith.

The Purpose Driven Life – Day 7 – Day 10.

Day 7 – The Reason for Everything; Day 8 – Planned for God’s Pleasure; Day 9 – What Makes God Smile; Day 10 – The Heart of Worship

These chapters deal mostly with discussing that God’s creation exists for God’s glory. Everything in the universe is created for God’s glory. As God’s best creation, we exist to recognize and fully appreciate the glory of God. How? By giving God heartfelt praise, endless worship, accepting Jesus as our saviour and living the way God wants us to live.

What stops man from glorifying God is sin. Whenever we sin, we fall into the temptation of the devil. Remember, if you believe in God then you also believe in the existence of the devil. And it is not enough that you believe in God, we should always give honour to God and follow God to protect us from from failing, from sinning. If you believe that God has a plan in your life, believe that the devil also has a plan in your life. The devil makes a lot of ways to snatch you away from God, to prevent you from giving time for God, to make you enjoy all the vices this world has to offer. Hence, people who worship the world do not realize, they worship Satan because Satan is the prince of the world. Every time you entertain your vices; you entertain the plans of the devil from you; you ignore this opportunity for you to glorify God. Remember, and I quote from this book, “Refusing to bring glory to God is prideful rebellion, and it is the sin that caused Satan’s fall – and ours, too.”

It is challenging to follow God and live Christ-like. People will make fun of you. You will lose people in your life because of your faith. People will think you are Bible bashing them. Understand that Jesus has forewarned us about this. Jesus said that if you have made the decision to follow Him, the world will hate you because the world hated Him first. But you know what? It’s cool because, I do not even want to praise the world anyway. I have accepted Jesus Christ as my saviour and everyday that I am alive, I give glory and honour to Jesus and to God. Without God, I will not exist. Without Jesus, I will not be saved from my sins.

Now, true worship for God also comes from honouring Jesus. Remember, Jesus died for our sins! I would have to expound that further when I post a blog about my learning from when I taught my Bible study group on John 19:17-27. There are people who believe in God but do not believe in Jesus. Remember, Jesus made a way for man to enter into a relationship with God. Jesus took all of man’s sins from the past, present and future. Without Jesus, religion alone will not be enough to gain eternal life with God. Why? Because man is a sinner, and the punishment for sin is eternal damnation in hell. Jesus became the living sacrifice. Jesus saved you!

Once you fully appreciate the love of Christ for mankind, worshipping God comes from the heart. Besides, God knows what is in your heart. God knows who worships Him in vain. God knows who worships Him because that person has been obliged or forced to do so because of religious traditions (Matthew 15:7-9). Jesus did not die in vain! He died so may have eternal life with Him and the Father. And so when we worship, it should come from the heart. Because your faith in Him is stronger, you bond with God; you start to form a relationship with God. Faith is what will give you that opportunity to give God an endless heartfelt praise – not religion. Many people have religion, but not many have faith – hence God for them becomes an obligation on Sundays only.

It is faith that will drive your obedience to follow Jesus’ living and teaching. Faith is to surrender our lives to God’s plan and not to live by sight alone. As I quote the book: “The more you realize how much God loves you, the easier surrender becomes.” The reality is we are men. We make mistakes, we are not perfect, we have limitations – we are not God. If we try to be God and be a God in our lives and in the lives of other people – we sin, that is pride, we become like Satan (Jeremiah 16:20). And so, surrender to God. Learn how to be obedient, trust in Him, trust in His plans, and love God. He knows all your sufferings, surrender it to Him. Because if you have accepted Jesus Christ and become like-Christ, it is not you but it is Jesus Christ fighting your battles for you! As I quote the book again, “So give it all to God: your past regrets, your present problems, your future ambitions, your fears, dreams, weaknesses, habits, hurts, and hang-ups. Put Jesus Christ in the driver’s seat of your life and take your hands off the steering wheel. Don’t be afraid; nothing under His control can ever be out of control. Mastered by Christ, you can handle anything.”

Every day that I am alive, I am grateful to God because it is another day for me to worship Him and spread His Word to other people – believers and non-believers. I remind people who are willing to hear the Word about how Jesus loves mankind. Why Jesus is the Lamb of God and Jesus became man not for the righteous but for sinners to find repentance. Whatever compliment I get, I bring the honour back to God because He has equipped me with the talents that enable me to do works for His glory. When I get any criticism because of my teaching, then glory to God too because it means I have made the sceptics think deeply about my teachings and they made a way for themselves to research about the truth. Big things or little things that I do every day, I do it for God. For example, whenever I drive for my brothers, I do it because it is my responsibility as the eldest; but most importantly because God gave them to me, and as a form of gratitude to God, I ensure that my brothers arrive to the place their going safely. I remember God in almost everything, not just at church or not just at Bible Study – in everything and in anything I remember God. I am worshipping God in many ways and indeed it has been a form of lifestyle.

“Give yourselves to God… surrender your whole being to Him to be used for righteous purposes.” – Romans 6:13

“For everything comes from God alone. Everything lives by His power, and everything is for His glory.” – Romans 11:36

Kat.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 11,840 hits
This blog contains my thoughts, reflections and realizations about my journey. Who I was before, what I am currently learning, what has inspired me, and who I am now.

Follow me:

Twitter/ Instagram: @ternski
Tumblr: ktrnamanalo.tumblr.com

Archives

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Current books I’m reading

